Réseau des sites majeurs de Vauban

Since July 2008, the Réseau des Sites Majeurs de Vauban* (Vauban main sites network) is registred on the Unesco world heritage list in conformance with the "Fortificationsof Vauban". This label is a prestigious reward granted to the politics of delopment led in each one of our cities. Introduced in 2004 by the municipalities, the project to register the fortifications of Vauban on the Unesco world heritage list aims to make recignize the diversity and the wealth of these fortifications. The serie of twelve sites, considered as the most representative of the fortifications of Vauban, trains the first whole and rational system of defense of the French maritim and ground borders. Firts line of fortification, these constructions intervene in the definition of a moderne European area.

* created in november 2005, the Réseau des Sites Majeurs de Vauban is an association (franch law 1901) which federates 12 fortificated sites planed by Vauban registered on the Unesco world heritage list.


At the occasion of the registration, the Réseau des Sites Majeurs de Vauban renews more than ever its will to make better know the work of this brillant architect and to make of these twelve places a real reference in terms of fortificated heritage management and valuation, on the national level as international. Its action is to develop the already existing networking between the sites, to value each city experience, in order to impulse new reflections regarding to scientific research, cultural and tourist development, and urban planning.

Sentinels of the territorial limits, the fortifications of Vauban are located in mountainous, maritime and urban landscapes. To discover these 12 places chosen and sublimated by Vauban, wearing the footprint of his constructions:

- Arras

- Longwy

- Neuf-Brisach

- Besançon

- Briançon

- Mont-Dauphin

- Villefranche-de-Conflent

- Mont-Louis

- Blaye / Cussac-Fort Médoc

- Saint-Martin-de-Ré

- Camaret-sur-Mer

- Saint-Vaast-La Hougue

Sentinelles catalanes de Vauban

The association Sentinelles catalanes de Vauban (Catalan sentinels of Vauban - french law 1901) has for objective to create a Destination Vauban in Pyrénées-Orientales, on the steps of the historic journey of the famous military architect of Louis XIV in 1680 : Perpignan - Collioure - Bellegarde - Prats-de-Mollo-la-Preste - Amélie-les-Bains - Villefranche-de-Conflent - Mont-Louis. A tourist and cultural itinerary allows, thanls to new common media, a better visibility of the sites and their animations.


Our network consists:

- Fort Saint-Elme in Collioure

- Fort de Bellegarde in Le Perthus

- fort Lagarde in Prats-de-Mollo/La-Preste

- Villefranche-de-Conflent and its ramparts, Fort Libéria and Cova bastera (registred on the Unesco world heritage list)

- Mont-Louis (registred on the Unesco world heritage list)


On the tracks of Vauban, from the Mediterranean sea to the Pyrenean summits, come to discover all year along, our fortresses, theirs original stories and their secrets... during free strolls or guided tours!